Maiden's Hope

In Tales of Valdemar: No True Way

Maiden's Hope

In March 1987, Mercedes Lackey, a young author from Oklahoma, published her first novel, Arrows of the Queen. No one could have envisioned that this modest book about a magical land called Valdemar would be the beginning of a fantasy masterwork series that would span decades and include more than two dozen titles.

Now the voices of other authors add their own special touches to the ancient land where Heralds “Chosen” from all walks of life by magical horse-like Companions patrol their ancient kingdom, dispensing justice, facing adversaries, and protecting their monarch and country from whatever threatens. Trained rigorously by the Herald’s Collegium, these special protectors each have extraordinary Gifts: Mindspeaking, FarSeeing, FarSpeaking, Empathy, Firestarting and ForeSeeing, and are bonded for life with their mysterious Companions. Travel with these astounding adventurers in sixteen original stories.

“The Whitest Lie” by Stephanie Shaver
“Old Loom, New Tapestry” by Dayle A. Dermatis
“The Barest Gift” by Brenda Cooper
“Consequences Unforeseen” by Elizabeth A. Vaughan
“Written in the Wind” by Jennifer Brozek
“Nwah”by Ron Collins
“Spun Magic” by Kristin Schwengel
“Weavings” by Diana L. Paxson
“A Wake of Vultures” by Elisabeth Waters
“Maiden’s Hope” by Michele Lang
“Ex Libris” by Fiona Patton
“A Dream Reborn” by Dylan Birtolo
“Forget Me Never” by Cedric Johnson
“Beyond the Fires” by Louisa Swann
“A Brand From the Burning” by Rosemary Edghill and Rebecca Fox
“Vixen” by Mercedes Lackey

Subscribe To MyNewsletter

Find out about Michele's new releases, updates, special announcements, and more! We will never share your email with anyone -- this is a spam-free list.

You have Successfully Subscribed!